Yesterday I had my first leadership coaching with a third party coaching provider that my company offers to me and people at my level. At the very outset the coach said it out loud what I was thinking - this is not therapy, but coaching on how to get best out of yourself in workplace situations. Within the first 15 minutes of asking about my background and work, the coach has clearly nailed in on the exact issue that bothers me about myself at work - I am not good at demanding and asking for growth opportunities. I keep hoping that I will be noticed anyway with my work, but thats not the case. And eventually I start feeling bad that I was not given a growth opportunity.

None of this is particularly new insight - I knew this about me for a while, but it was refreshing to see how obvious this was to someone else. In the next few weeks of coaching we will be covering topics on how to best represent myself, assert my views and demand growth & recognition in a way thats positive and gets result.

I am definitely looking forward to more convos in coming week!