Our house is an all electric house and has no gas line installed (Yes even heating/water is all electric). The desis that we are, not having a gas stove has been a bit disappointing although we’ve been considering using induction and letting everything else stay electric. Anyway, more and more cities are banning gas lines and I think an all electric house might actually be plus rather than negative in a decade or two - but obv, we do we and indian food is best cooked on gas IMO.

Anyway, right after we moved in I started getting quotes from different contractors that Washington gas recommends to get this started. WashGas wont bring the gas to your house unless a contractor gives you a quote to install gas inside the house and the equipment you will convert to gas. The contractors that WashGas recommends are all part of cartel IMO – I called 5 of them, and each of them gave me a quote for nearly 15-20k$, and out of which they claimed, WashGas itself took a cut of around 5k to install the damn line from street to house.

Until I decided to not use WashGas contractors and instead use a reputable licensed contractor thats not in their network. Turns out this contractor gives me a quote for < 3k to bring gas into the house and connect equipment. Even better, contractor guided me on how to submit the request myself to WashGas instead of them - which I did - and today WashGas came back to me and said they will bring gas from street to my house for…. free.

Moral of story - shop around and dont fucking trust contractors on everything they mouth.