I got a package last night that was addressed to someone along with a care-of: our last owners name. I was like, hmm yet another package that our last owner got. I texted him and told him he probably got a package for his kid under care-of name and sent him the shipping label. He messages back, no, its not him, but our neighbors across the street. So I am like, if its a package for neighbors across the street why is the package addressed clearly to our address with his care-of name?

He texts back a bit later and says OMG the neighbor across sometimes used to send gifts to their address so he could surprise his wife. And thats what must have happened - the neighbor must have sent package to our address to keep it away from his wife, but forgot that previous owner no longer lived there. I am like OK no problem I will give package to the old guy. Old owner texts back, no no, please hold on to package until I chat with that guy. So I am ok!

Neighbor texts me late at night apologizing about the package and says he will pick up the surprise gift today morning (which he did). Previous owner has a sigh of relief that his friend & neighbor’s surprise was not ruined because the old man forgot he doesnt live there. All is well in everyone’s house.

Except, now I have an angry wife at home who is smitten by the amount of love between the old neighbor and his wife that he has gone to extreme lengths to keep a gift a secret and why the fuck can’t I do something romantic like this?

FML!