So the kid and I just had a heated debate. Comes back from school and exclaims one of her classmates wore Dont support Israeli businesses T-shirt in the class, and she found that super racist. I countered that perhaps we should be blaming the parents and not her as much, and whether it was really racist? I ask her what if she wore Dont support Amazon business t-shirt, would it be considered racist? No, she said, but calling out Israeli business is. I say, well, do you think maybe its just an political opinion her parents have forced on her? Like t-shirt doesnt say Dont support Israelis, it specifically calls out businsesses. She didnt budge and argued there are no jew kids wearing Dont support Palestenian businesses in class.

I am proud of her for engaging in the debate and holding her ground! For the record, I do find t-shirt quite racist but I can see how it can simply be defended as political opinion. I blame the parents whole heartedly and not her. I do not think elementary school is a place for such t-shirts and grandstanding. I am hoping their class teacher has conveyed the sensitivity to parents who i am sure are likely to ignore and do their own thing.