People are still discussing whether to give up your seat on a plane for someone else? Personal rec: Only give up your seat for people with small babies, or the seat offered is similar or better than yours. Unless either of the conditions are true, there is absolutely no reason to entertain people.

Once coming back from Las Vegas to DC, I was agressively asked by a mom to switch my aisle seat with a middle seat so her early teenage son could sit on the aisle seat while she occupied the opposite aisle seat. I declined and told her to move to middle seat instead if it was that a big concern. Initially I felt bad about this move. But then flight takes off and this woman is actually traveling with full family with husband, kids, her mom & dad…. and they are all sitting on aisle seats. So fucking convenient. That was all I needed to feel better again about myself.

Frankly the kid looked relieved he didnt have to tolerate his mom for next 5 hours anyway so I might have actually helped him.