The local gym I go to has a new coach, a woman of Pakistani origin (first generation American whose parents immigrated from Lahore, Pakistan). She is a young trainer, probably just out of college and kicks some serious butt. Fitness training is the last place I expect to see a south asian (& muslim), much less a woman so when she joined as a coach I was surprised! And boy within a short few weeks she has already carved a name for herself within the gym community. She has built a reputation for being a terrific fucking coach that people look forward to training with! I hope that she continues to coach at the gym for a while, and honestly what an inspiration to all the young girls, and parents like me who don’t usually view fitness industry as a place where desis can break into.

PS: Thats what I love about this area in general - the incredible diversity of people!