The Karnataka election campaigning thats playing nonstop on TV is plain upsetting at so many levels, maybe because I am from there and I know about the state as much as I do about Gujarat. I understand the anti-Muslim bias and Muslim hate in Gujarat, but Karnataka was always far more welcoming of different religions and people, even if people from Karnataka are not necessarily as friendly or helpful as Gujaratis. Reserved they maybe, but they were still accepting of others. Its bizarre to see people are not just anti-Muslim now, but even casteism is at ridiculous peak. Lingayats vs Brahmins is now a big deal, and parties bending over backwards trying to win each caste. The hindu-fication of Karnataka has been such a strange development to see. My own extended family are slowly becoming a full blown bunch of fascists. Disappointing to see Karnataka headed this way.