Dad’s left to meet his best friend in New York. Both wife and I thought the excitement & anticipation on his face was far greater than meeting us. This is one friend whom he can’t stop talking about once he starts so I try to just avoid talking about him at all costs. I mean he’s a nice guy, nice family but you know in the last 20+ years I’ve been in the USA I’ve talked to him a grand total of 4-5 times, most of which are during when dad’s here. He’s never once called me while i was doing masters, or invited me anywhere (as much as he says now do you need an invite?) in the last 20+ years. I respect that distance but I also dont have any specific interest in harboring any relations with him or his family at this point. No hard feelings. Of course if you ask my dad I wouldn’t even have survived by myself without his watchful eyes on me. Their friendship is so strong that dad has chosen to spend a couple of his birthdays with him while in USA while my 5 year old disappointedly thought her grandpa would be with her. This time too he was all gung-ho about his grandkid’s birthday until I reminded him his own grandkid’s birthday party was this weekend and graduation was later this week. He half heartedly decided to come back on graduation day, which I guess is still a big improvement over just missing it all together. (No, we did talk about moving the visit to next week to accommodate our events but that would be too much to expect lol).

On the other hand, I know how much his son and daughter make each year thanks to some taunted shade that dad throws my way and I’m like yeah good for you, but I am not telling you my salary so you can have a measuring contest with your bestie. Anyway, house is going to be empty for a few days which means business as usual!