My ex manager at work and I have always had very cordial relationship. She has been my mentor, manager, peer, colleague and a good friend of mine over the years. Though we haven’t worked with each other in years we always make it point to meet for a lunch every 2-4 weeks to catch up. Due to busy schedules we couldn’t connect for last few months and finally connected this week. Like always one of us foots the bill alternatively, and this time was my turn. But this post is not about that. Casual conversation at home about lunch goes. I mention this time our lunch spot, a burger place I chose was not very good and it was just meh. It was serviceable and not something we’d do again. Well, my dad didn’t take too well to this. If it was my ex manager why did I take her to burger place? I m like not a big deal here honestly. Then he is like I should have pre-vetted the restaurant before taking her there so she wouldn’t be unhappy about the burger place. Then he goes off on tangent about how I don’t know how to keep relations at work or with people. What was supposed to be a simple casual convo about how we both didn’t like the burger place somehow became about me not being good enough, as always. I don’t know if he realizes this is why I almost share information only on need to know basis with him because there is no knowing how it all comes back to me in some form. Even if it was in jest (it wasn’t) these are kind of convos I find meaningless and mostly hurtful coz it just makes me feel bad. But fuck it, this is the least of my headaches to think about (but I didn’t stop thinking did i, coz I had to blog it?).