One of the things about American life that has surprised me is how many couples and families are still together. Growing up in India with western exposure limited mostly to Hollywood and some sports I grew up believing every other marriage in USA ended in divorce, and Americans by definition are not family people. It’s a position I held even after coming here for a while, but that has changed so much over the years, and I have been so wrong about it. The families that do stay together here do stay put. The familial bonds are as strong as they can be and I only see younger generation forging more close relationship with their families (when all’s well). It’s been a revelation to me how wrong I was - otherwise I just assumed every other kid was raised by a single parent or had multiple set of parents!!