Yesterday was 1 year anniversary of us moving into our new home. I can’t say it was the smoothest or most pleasurable move, but also the amount of things we’ve gotten done in this house over the last year makes me happy that I am not just man of words & whine, but I also have taken action to to make our house better. In the last year, we completely revamped our jungle backyard that we inherited into a nice beautiful lawn with new fences, got rid of a tree that was dangerously close to our house and cutting out sunlight, moved our powder room to a different location in the house, revamped our guest bathroom that was straight out of 80s, and also installed net new windows in our living room to bring outside (& light) in. We also put in a contract for kitchen renovation that will commence next month. Of course, goes without saying I am lucky and privileged to be in this situation. Why didnt we just buy a house then with all of these things in there you ask? The money we are spending/spent all of these renovations would still be less than buying a house with everything we wanted. Northern Virginia market is pretty crazy and I am pretty confident that recouping our investment (& more) will not be a problem in this market at all. Ultimately it boils down to location, location, location! And just like the first time, this time too our house is in an incredible location.

I went through a phase of depression right after buying this house, and went through a lot of buyers remorse and guilt. But I am also glad I’ve not sat around wallowing in pity and did something. The result of all these renos in the past year has made a big difference to my psyche and has made enjoy the house way more than I did last year. Some might say if you gave it time you would’ve just liked it anyway, but i differ, because I know me. Anyway, post this last reno, we are done with anything in the house for a while, and i am looking forward to that!