I often wonder if my mom had not died unexpectedly, would I have ever turned atheist at all? After all for a major part of my life I did believe in God, and dutifully did most things I was supposed to do be a Brahmin in good standing. Its no secret and I’ve blogged on this much that my mom’s passing was a huge catalyst for me turning away from God, but I do wonder sometimes how might have life turned out if it hadn’t played out that way? Would I still be a god-fearing man, doing all the needful things & celebrating each festival under mom’s watchful eye? Would my wife continue do all the various pujas and things that my mom would’ve asked her to do? My kid is a certified atheist already, but I am almost sure she might have been a temple visiting blessing seeker. Obviously I’ll never find out, but I wish I could answer the question whether stopping believing in God made me any more happier? I guess it gave me peace, so that should count for more.