Some end of year best-ofs in no particular order.

Spider Man: Across the Spiderverse was easily the best movie of the year for me. I caught this movie twice in theater and couple times more on streaming. If there’s a near perfect movie of 2023, this was it. I didnt think much of Barbie or Oppenheimer as much as they were acclaimed. I also really liked Kho gaye hum kahan towards end of the year.

I continued to listen to a lot of Punjabi Pop, both Indian and Pakistani artists, all through 2023. My interest in this genre hasn’t died down much; they are perfect for low stress in-car listening or background music during get togethers or just white noise when working. I am not listening to this genre to appreciate any serious music here, but they are so accessible and fun to listen so whatever. Hasan Raheem was definitely a pick along with dependable AP Dhillon for my go-to music. Gothilu from Coke Studio Bharat was a surprisingly addictive track.

I read so few books this year (but better than zero from years past!), but Kaikeyi by Vaishnavi Patel was my pick of the year.

My favorite new restaurant of the year was Taco Rock - I discovered this place during a swim meet and have been hooked to their quick taco turnarounds. One time I ordered their shrimp fajitas (from what is essentially a fast food taco restaurant), and it was the best fucking fajitas i have eaten in a long long time. Even better? a location opened up a mile away from our place so this is a place we’ll be visiting often!

I will try to do another post on our scores of home improvement projects for 2023 later today if I am in mood and micro makes it easy for me to post photos.