These days I feel like I am living in the The Namesake life. My cousin whose wedding I missed sent us their wedding/reception video. I put it on TV for all of us to see and the kid couldn’t stop making snarky comments about the functions & rituals she was seeing on screen. At some pt I blew up and told her angrily that she is an Indian no matter what she thinks she is, and we as parents would appreciate it more if she tried to engage & understand those functions rather be a snark about it. To which of course my kid got upset and reacted angrily back that she was an American and nothing of this relates to her, and how it was all so stupid, and that she’d never be remotely Indian. Which of course made us even more angry and well it kept escalating to the point where she was asked to hit the sack for the night. Later at night we apologized to each other for our behavior and by morning all was forgotten. I couldn’t help thinking how right she was and yet also how right I fee I am. I am not ready to see my kid as something else, while my kid already feels she belongs somewhere else. Ugh.