A desi messaged me via reddit chat a few days ago after he saw a post I had made in local communities asking for recommendations for a pet sitter. The original post was nearly 18 months old at this point. He messages me how he grew up in India, how he had dogs there and loved animals, how he really wants to do the same in the USA and how he would love for him to pet sit our dog and earn some money to pay for his college education. My guess is he’s here on a student visa or h1b and wants to do a side hustle to earn money. I reply back saying all that is great to hear and no we’ll keep him in mind, but can he share any sort of profile around himself - either on rover, or pet city or anywhere I can make sense of who this person is? I get an almost instant reply saying oh, he’s not on any platform except reddit.

I’m like motherfucker, you want me to trust you are even a real person and keep you in mind but you won’t do the most basic stuff that’s required of someone who apparently wants to be a pet sitter. I even checked his comments on reddit and he definitely is a local and is active in a lot of other communities, but also i am like, how fucking dumb are you.