For years after mom’s passing my dad would keep sharing numerous spreadsheets and documents around on how he planned to disperse his “inheritance” between me and my brother. He would show me various combinations of properties & assets divvied up between me and bro, and even a “college” inheritance to my kid. He even made a will at some point that he shared with both of us. I dont need any of his money (thankfully!) and told him its his assets to do whatever he wished. He of course insisted I absolutely had a stake in it.

Until I didn’t. As is true for him (and thats why I had no expectations to begin with), he decided my bro should get the entire inheritance and promptly wrote it all away for him including the whole “college” inheritance he promised the kid last few trips. I and bro get along really well and we are very close to each other, and I would’ve never said no anyway, but it kinda hurt nonetheless that dad didn’t once ask or thought he should let me know. He kinda sorta dropped all of this on me while we were out picking the kid from swim practice. My poor bro kept assuming I and dad had already conversed and it was the plan. Anyway, its things like these with my dad that often leave a bad taste in my mouth. I already struggle with my feelings for him and things like these don’t make it any better! On the other hand I am also glad that I do really well for myself and at the end of the day nothing about my life changes with his decision at all. If he feels happy with his decision, so be it. It would’ve just been nice to be asked though.